“Either it brings tears to their eyes, or else -” “Or else what?” said Alice, for the Knight had made a sudden pause. “Or else it doesn’t, you know.”

Well.

Today I spoke to my new friend who is a patient of Dr. WK. I will call her Dinah.

(I didn’t hear from Dr. WK today, so I am hoping to hear from him soon…maybe over the weekend or Monday)

Dinah and I compared notes on our initial FSH tests and ultrasounds. While my FSH was 42 and my U/S showed some antral follicles (maybe 6-7 between both ovaries, but we have no idea if there are healthy viable eggs in there or not), Dinah’s FSH was over 100 and her U/S showed very small ovaries with nothing – not one follicle – in them. After her treatment, Dr WK told her he wasn’t very hopeful that they would conceive (and we know now they had a beautiful baby girl).

So. That’s very encouraging.

I have to admit, I’m a little wary about some things. For example, for some women and men, this is just a temporary fix – the bacteria often returns later. Dinah’s FSH is in the forties again. And because Dr. WK does not think she will be able to conceive again, he has talked her out of returning for more treatment as it is so much money. I asked her about this – I mean, after all, if she was doing the treatment for her general health, too, and there is no guarantee of a baby, what is the point, right? She said that she believes that her body is stronger than before…even though the bacteria has returned, she is still better off now than she would have been if she had done nothing. She also says her husband thanks her all the time for their baby, for not giving up.

She did tell me something else worrying – her daughter has been showing some signs of possibly having acquired some sort of bacterial infection vertically (this can be evident in children through ear infections, thrush, yeast infections, chemical sensitivities, asthma, etc.). It’s nothing that can’t be managed, of course, but it just makes me think – I wish Dr. WK weren’t so far away. Poor Dinah has to try to find doctors here who can appreciate what she has done for her health and who might be willing to provide her with the treatment here so it doesn’t cost a fortune. I’ve referred her to the naprotechnology community as they tend to be more open-minded about alternative approaches to ART.

It was good to talk to her. I like her a lot, and I am so grateful to her for sharing her story with me – I honestly think that it has helped me to get Mr. H on board so far.

Now I just need to get our test results.

One thought on ““Either it brings tears to their eyes, or else -” “Or else what?” said Alice, for the Knight had made a sudden pause. “Or else it doesn’t, you know.”

  1. I’ll be waiting here with you for the results. Note that every story is different of course, you seem to be in a much better position than your friend, it may be that your infection is not as spread and it may not return after treatment (or not as soon!). I’m really sorry her daughter has signs of infection already, I hope she can find a suitable doctor that can help her.

Leave a Reply

