Mission Follicles: Day 4

SUPPLEMENTS: 5 shots wheatgrass, 1 prenatal, 400 mg CoQ10, 400 mg Ubiquinol, 150 mg R-Lipoic Acid, 1000 IU Vitamin D, 200 mcg Selenium, 240 mg Vitex, 500 mg fish oil, probiotic, 2 Chinese Herb blends in pill form (TIAO JING BU XUE WAN and GUI SHAO DI HUANG WAN)

GOOD FOOD: cooked spinach, 2 scrambled eggs, a clementine, bok choy, chicken breast with garlic and lemon, roasted seaweed, almonds, beef broth, sauerkraut

WATER INTAKE: Approx. 30 oz + counting

EXERCISE: 60 minutes dogwalking

SELF-CARE: Morning coffee, evening tea and cookies, acupuncture appointment with Yu MIng

OBSERVATIONS: Energy not great today after a long day yesterday and poor night of sleep. Yu Ming noticed it in my pulses. I expressed my worry about not being able to get rid of the infection, and she explained that our bodies all have good and bad bacteria and it is a matter of getting the body in balance. She asked if I was taking probiotics and talked about how harsh the antibiotics are on the system…the herbs she gave me will support my liver and kidneys. I told her about how there were no follicles on the ultrasound and she agreed that my body is working so hard to get in balance and fight the bad bacteria that it is not directing energy to the reproductive system right now. The needles were REALLY painful today – everything is so tight. I am so glad I am seeing her – I feel like it is the right place for me to be. I love listening to her stories about her clients – the 47-year-old woman who stopped having her periods after an argument at work – she thought she was in menopause and then came to Yu Ming for migraines…a few months later she got her period and three years later she still has a regular cycle. Or the 20-year-old who had never had a period. Her Chinese mother was so worried about her she went out into the fields in China and picked Herba Leonuri for her and boiled it into a tea – she drank it every day and 2 months later her period started…now she has 5 sons! Herba Leonuri (Motherwort or Yi Mu Cao) is in one of the herb blends Yu MIng gave me – it means “the herb that benefits females” – it will promote blood flow. Every time I take it I will think of the Chinese mother picking it fresh in the field.

I told Yu Ming I think I just need to be patient with my body right now. She smiled and told me, “I think you are a very patient person. A lot of people would have given up by now. You have a very stubborn mind.” 

I guess that’s true. I think I’m borderline addicted to this challenge now…I’m an infertiholic. It’s like my own version of The Amazing Race…I mean, really, not only is my FSH high and my periods MIA, but now I have NO FOLLICLES? Nevermind the hypothyroidism, the endometriosis, and the infection! But on I trudge…to see what’s around the next corner.

I’m a little bit weird, aren’t I?

I really want to get to the finish line, though. 

One thought on “Mission Follicles: Day 4

  1. I hear you about being an infertilholic! Well, as far as I think, there are worse hobbies one can have. That was pretty much my only hobby for the last 3 years…

Leave a Reply

